Focus on the Gratitude

There are so many things to be grateful for if I consciously force myself to sit and list them. It has only been three months but it feels like three years. The level of angst and activism that this past election result has brought forth is nothing short of amazing. Many of us had the opportunity to march at the history making Women’s March on Washington or one of the world wide sister marches that took place on January 21, 2017. It was an awe inspiring event for me that I was thrilled to be able to share with my daughter. I wasn’t afraid for our country or for our future on that day. I felt strong, empowered, and hopeful surrounded by the thousands upon thousands of women, men and children in Washington, D.C. that day.

I’m grateful for the Women’s March and the many similar statement gatherings in airports, community centers, and the like that have taken place over these past few months.  Such marches and protests are important. They fill us with hope and energy by allowing us to gather with like-minded people. But there is real work to be done. I live in Howard County, Maryland. There are at least four new grassroots community groups that have started since November 9th, 2016 in my county alone. At least four. They are: DoTheMostGoodHoCo; the Howard County Women’s Democratic Alliance; Indivisible HoCo; and Together We Will – HoCo. I am grateful that these groups are quickly organizing and getting involved in the multitude of issues with which this new administration is presenting us. And while people have organized around concerns that face us on a national level, there began to be a very real, and wonderful side-effect. More folks began to pay more attention to the issues that impact us on a state or local level as well. It reminds me of the quote from Fred Rogers of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood fame, “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

I am so grateful to everyone who is participating in any of these new groups and to those who are engaging with long standing groups with renewed energy and enthusiasm. It helps me weather the often daily absurdities coming out of the White House and the new administration to know that I am not alone, that We The People are not going to go down without a fight. This blog was started to collect and capture the efforts, events, thoughts and ideas of these new grassroots groups, as well as existing groups.

If you’d like to post to our site, please contact the site content stewards.

Keep up the amazing work and enthusiastic spirit.

 

#HoCoBlogs

 

 

Leave a Reply

